What treasures are left in the Kerouac archive?

With the release of Kerouac’s first novel, The Sea Is My Brother and more recently, his Collected Poems, this is a question I have been rolling around in my head… Having read extensively about Kerouac, I am certain there are more treasures to be unearthed from the vault, I mean, the man could fill a notebook!

Kerouac Notebooks

Thankfully Kerouac biographer, Paul Maher Jr. has taken that thought to the next level and made a list of what he would love to see published. You can read Maher’s extensive list over at Empty Mirror.

And while we are speaking about Kerouac’s incredible literary output, we may never have seen it without Sterling Lord; after all, his determination to secure Jack a book deal for On the Road was crucial to it being published. Now, aged 92, Sterling tells all in his memoir, Lord of Publishing.

For fans of Kerouac and Merry Prankster, Ken Kesey, Lord of Publishing may shed some new light on how books such as On the Road and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest came to be contemporary classics. Here’s a review well worth the click!

About these ads

1 Comment

Filed under poetry & publishing

One response to “What treasures are left in the Kerouac archive?

  1. nice..have to check that out..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s